spirit Vs. flesh

As I was doing a bible study on the fruits of the Flesh and the Fruits of the Spirit, it occurred to me that in myself I am unable to obtain the Fruits of the Spirit…

I had always thought that the Holy Spirit gave me the fruits.  This is true in a sense, but I will not obtain those fruits just by the Lord waving his hand or speaking it forth.  It is work to obtain these fruits.  I have found that I must stay vigilant/alert.  I must look at my motives, feelings, thoughts.   I have to be willing to lay down my old self also known as the flesh.

The job of the Holy Spirit is to ENABLE us, or help us stay strong in making these correct or Christ like choices.  We learn what these Christ like choices are by reading the word and through the Holy Spirits teaching (which will always align with the word of God).

The Holy Spirit is the one who reveals ALL truth.  We don’t come to the saving grace of the Lord by our own, no, the Holy Spirit has to be present revealing this truth to us.  If the Holy Spirit is not present we can, and do, say the sinners prayer.  We can get it intellectually on our own.  But there is not a true conversion if the Holy Spirit isn’t present.

I couldn’t understand why I would see people, myself included, giving our lives to God but nothing changed….I don’t know how many times I gave my life to God but would walk out with not one change.  I would try my hardest to be “good”, but nothing changed I always failed.

One day the Holy Spirit was truly present.  He revealed the Truth to me.  Not my truth, or the worlds truth.  It wasn’t anything I did that brought me to the saving grace of Jesus Christ.  It was the Holy Spirit.

I believe that this is a hurdle that many Christians have when walking with the Lord.  We always try in ourselves.  In our own strength, in our own intellect.  We try to manipulate circumstances because we believe its what the Lord wants.  We lean on our own understanding.  We look through the eyes of the flesh.  We think with the mind of the flesh.

A pastor told me one time, “We walk in the flesh about 80% of the time and walk in spirit 20% of the time.  I would agree that is what many Christians do…But this is not what the word of God tells us to do.  I do not believe that walking in the spirit is some mystical thing.  It is very simple, Its about your choices.  Will you choose the narrow road that leads to life or will you choose the wide road that leads to destruction?

Walking in the flesh will always point to yourself:

Galatians 5:19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

Walking in the spirit will always point to God.

Galatians 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. 26 Let us not become conceited, provoking and envying each other.

 

Blessings,

L.